• Dhaka Wed, 19 JUNE 2024,
FY25 budget is pro-people and practical: Quader
Pro-Raushan leaders announce Raushan as Japa Chairman
Raushan Ershad has been elected as chairman by the pro-Raushan faction of the Jatiya Party (Japa) for the next three years. Her name was announced at the 10th National Council on Saturday (March 9). Kazi Firoz Rashid has been elected as the Chief Executive Chairman of Jatiya Party for the next three years. Syed Abu Hossain Babla has been as the senior Co-Chairman. Besides, five Co-Chairmen have been elected. Party Vice Chairman Ziaul Haque Mridha read out the condolence motion at the beginning. Earlier, the activities of the council officially started at noon on Saturday (March 9) with the hoisting of the national anthem and party flag.
AL to finalise candidates for reserved seats
AL nominates candidates for reserved seats
Upazila elections to begin in last week of April: EC
Jatiyo Party says its elected MPs will take oath
41.8% voter turnout in 12th JS polls: CEC
41.8 percent of voters exercised their franchise in the just-concluded parliamentary polls in Bangladesh, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Kazi Habibul Awal has said. “Anyone doubting the information can challenge it. We challenge critics (who don’t believe this number) to come up with evidence to back up their claim,” he told reporters at the Election Commission office in Agargaon in Dhaka on Monday (January 8). Habibul Awal also said that the Japanese observation team has praised the elections.   He said they initially released a turnout number based on information received until 2pm. However, analysing the final results of 298 centres showed the turnout to be 41.8 percent.   CEC told reporters on Sunday that 40 percent of votes were cast across the country. He said journalists collected information in 299 constituencies. There was no serious violence. A candidate's candidature was cancelled before the end of the election. There were reports of arson in some polling stations.   "Two of our polling officers died of cardiac arrest while on duty," he added.   The Awami League secured the majority in the elections, bagging 224 seats out of 299. Among the rest are 62 independent candidates, 11 from the Jatiya Party, and a candidate from another party.   Apart from this, due to the death of a candidate in Naogaon-2 constituency, voting was held in 299 constituencies. However, the polling of Mymensingh-3 (Gouripur) constituency was closed on Sunday (January 7) afternoon due to irregularities and clashes. Hence, the result of the seat is pending.