• Dhaka Wed, 18 MAY 2022,

Fed Cup Football: Bashundhara Kings emerge as new champions

Rtv online desk
|  05 Jan 2020, 00:00 | Update : 05 Jan 2020, 20:41
Fed Cup Football: Bashundhara Kings emerge as new champions
Photo: Collected
Star-studded Bashundhara Kings emerged as the new champions in the Federation Cup Football Tournament, the season’s curtain raiser soccer meet, beating first-time finalist Rahmatganj Muslim Friends Society 2-1 goals in the final of the TVS 31st Federation Cup  2019 in front of a capacity crowd at the Bangabandhu National Stadium in the capital on Sunday.

Bashundhara Kings emerged as the first new champions in the Federation Cup Football after Sheikh Russel KC 8 years ago, joining Dhaka Abahani Limited, Dhaka Mohammedan SC, Sheikh Jamal DC Ltd, Sheikh Russel KC, Muktijoddha Sangsad KC and Brothers Union, who exited earlier in this year’s meet.

Russia World Cup playing Costa Rica booter cum Kings captain Daniel Colindres Solera scored both the goals for new sensations and big budgeted Bashundhara Kings in only their 2nd appearance in the tournament, after finishing runners up last year in the Federation Cup losing to Dhaka Abahani Limited in the final.

Rahmatganj captain cum Gambian forward Momodou Bah scored the lone goal for Rahmatganj MFS in the day’s crucial final.

Champions Kings received prize money of Tk 5 lakh while Runners-Up Rahmatganj got Tk 3 lakh.

Daniel Colindres was adjudged the best player of the tournament and his teammate defender Bishwanath Ghosh was adjudged man of the final.

American forward of Bangladesh Police Football Club Rivera Sidney Adam, who scored 4 goals was named as the top scorer while Dhaka Mohammedan Limited won the fair play award.

After the match, Senior Vice-President of Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) Abdus Salam Murshedy MP distributed the prizes as the chief guest. BFF members, Clubs representatives and players were also present on the occasion.

In the last year, the Kings showed their worth in the Walton Independence Cup 2018 claiming their maiden title in the top level football beating Sheikh Russel KC by 2–1 goals in the final and later they emerged new powerhouse of the country’s football clinching their first-ever Bangladesh Premier League title securing 63 points, five points ahead of runners-up Dhaka Abahani.

In the day’s final, the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Champions put pressure on the Rahmatganj with their aggressive football from the very beginning.

In the 2nd minute, Kyrgyz midfielder Baktyir Duishobekov missed a chance to open account, off a corner by captain Colindres. But his header from inside the box missed the target.

Just five minutes later, Rahmatganj defender Nahidul Islam Nahid smartly saved a close-range header from Argentine defender Nicolas Delmonte.

The giant-killer Rahmatganj, which for the first time appeared in the final of a top-tier competition in their 87-year history, made several eye-catching attempts from counter attacks. But Anisur Rahman Zico, the wall of the Kings, successfully denied all of their efforts.

In the 16th minute, Zico denied two consecutive attempts from Rahmatganj forward Shuhel Miah and Uzbek forward Turaev Akobir from inside the box. Forward Shuhel missed two more chances in a span of five minutes (20th to 24th minute).

Kings finally broke the deadlock in the 41st minute while Colindres sent the ball home with a glancing header utilizing a cross from defender Bishwanath Ghosh (1-0).

After the half-time, Kings continued their attacks and produced some close chances to widen their margin.

But Rahmatganj made a surprise comeback in the game while Captain Momodou Bah leveled the margin, off a corner from midfielder Shahedul Alam in the 64th minute (1-1).

After conceding goal, Kings came alive, increased their attacks and finally bagged its fruits in the 77th minute. Colindres made no mistake to score the match-winner with a simple tap-in shot while Rahmatgani goalkeeper Rasel Mahmud Liton made a serious blunder inside the box (2-1).

Defender Yeasin Khan of Kings and Defender Mahmudul Hasan Kiron of Rahmatganj got yellow cards.

The Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) champions Kings started mission in the season’s curtain-raiser soccer meet aiming to bag their maiden Fed Cup title.

After beating Brothers Union Limited by 1-0 goal in the first group match, Kings suffered a shocking 0-2 goals defeat against Chittagong Abahani Limited in the 2nd match.

But, Kings bounced back in the race eliminating Group D champions Muktijoddha Sangsad Krira Chakra by 4-1 goals in a nail-biting tie-breaker as the 4th and last quarterfinal between them was locked in 1-1 goals in stipulated 90-minute time and also in the extra session.

On the other hand, giant-killer Rahmatganj MFS maintained their unbeaten run to reach the Fed Cup final for the first time eliminating ten-time Fed Cup Champions Dhaka Mohammedan SC by 1-0 goal in the first semifinal.

The old Dhaka outfit booked a seat for the semifinals upsetting eleven-time champions Dhaka Abahani Limited by 4-3 goals in the tie-breaker as their first quarterfinal between them ended in 1-1 draw in the extra-time after goalless in stipulated period last Monday last.

With the shocking departure of Dhaka Mohammedan, all the six former champions -- Dhaka Abahani Ltd, Sheikh Jamal DC Ltd, Sheikh Russel KC, Muktijoddha Sangsad KC and Brothers Union – were eliminated from the ongoing meet.

Bashundhara Kings: Anisur Rahman Zico, Yeasin Khan, Topu Barman, Motin Mia, Bishwanath Ghosh, Mahbubur Rahman Sufil (Emon Mahmud), Mohammad Ibrahim, Baktyir Duishobekov, Daniel Colindres Solera, Nicolas Delmonte, Akhtam Nazarov.

Rahmatganj Muslim Friends Society: Rasel Mahmud Liton, Acpopob Asrorov (Md Sarif), Camara Younoussa, Mahmudul Hasan Kiron, Arafat Hossain, Suhel Miah, Momodou Bah, Turaev Akobir, Sanoar Hossain, Shahedul Alam, Nadidul Islam Nahid.

Referee: Md Jalal Uddin

Source: UNB


  • Latest
  • Favourite