• Dhaka Wed, 18 MAY 2022,

Mymensingh becomes country’s 12th City Corporation

Rtv online report
|  02 Apr 2018, 00:00 | Update : 02 Apr 2018, 19:39
Mymensingh becomes country’s 12th City Corporation
Mymensingh municipality was approved as the 12th City Corporation of the country. The area of the new City Corporation was also extended.

The area of the City Corporation will be 91.3255 square kilometers. The density of population is 5 thousand 167 person per square kilometers. Total population is 4 lakh 71 thousand 858.

National Implementation Committee on Administrative Reforms (NICAR) approved a proposal in this regard at a meeting held at the Prime Minister’s Office in the capital on Monday.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina presided over the meeting.

After the meeting, Secretary of the Cabinet Division (Coordination & Reforms) NM Ziaul Alam informed the newsmen about the matter.

The Secretary said, of the total 13 unions under Mymensingh sadar upazila the City Corporation will be formed with 8 unions. The unions are- Boira, Akua, Khagdahar, Char Ishwardia, Dapunia, Bhabkhali, Sirta and Char Nilakkhia (Partial).

Mymensingh City Corporation has been constituted following the fulfillment of all the eight criteria of forming a City Corporation including population density, income source and number of industrial units.


  • Latest
  • Favourite