• Dhaka Wed, 14 APRIL 2021,

Attempt to kill Sheikh Hasina: Death references of 14 accused reach HC

Rtv news
|  06 Apr 2021, 16:24
Attempt to kill Sheikh Hasina: Death references of 14 accused reach HC
File photo
The death references of 14 accused who were awarded death penalty in connection with attempt to kill Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina at her electoral area at Kotalipara in Gopalganj, have reached before the High Court. The information was confirmed by Supreme Court Special Officer Barrister Saifur Rahman on Tuesday.

On March 23 the Dhaka Speedy Trial Tribunal-1 awarded death penalty for 14 militants in connection with plotting to kill Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina by planting bomb at the public meeting place at Kotalipara. Dhaka Speedy Trial Tribunal-1 Judge Abu Jafar Md. Kamruzzaman delivered the verdict.

The death penalty awarded accused were- Mofizur Rahman, Mahmud Azhar, Rasheduzzaman, Tareq, Wadud Sheikh alias Gazi Khan, Azizul Haque, Lokman, Yusuf alias Moshab Morol, Mohsab Hasan alias Rashu, Sheikh Md. Enamul Haque, Anisul Islam, Sarwar Hossain, Amirul Islam and Rafiqul Islam Khan.

In this connection three cases were lodged. The verdicts of two cases were delivered earlier.

Mentionable, the powerful bomb was seen while making the dias at the public gathering place of Sheikh Hasina’s meeting at Sheikh Lutfar Rahman Government Ideal College at Kotalipara on July 22, 2000. A team of Bangladesh Army recovered the 76 kg bomb later. On the following day another bomb weight 40 kg was recovered. In this connection police filed three cases with Kotalipara police station under attempt to kill, plotting to kill and explosives control acts.




  • Latest
  • Favourite